Effraeti's RP

One Woman, Two Timelines, Two Destinies.

IntPiPoMo – Day 1: Icecrown

I have a tendency to have random “OMG, that is so cool looking!” moments in the game.  Sometimes I think to take a screenshot, and usually I do not.  So when I saw Angelya’s posts on Revive and Rejuvenate about IntPiPoMo (International Picture Posting Month), I thought it sounded like a great way to showcase some of the wonderful artwork and areas in WoW!

When I started following the Post a Day Challenge (which I have totally failed at), it was with the intention of participating in NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month).  Since I admit the novel is out of my grasp this year, I decided saying 50,000 words over the course of 50 pictures sounded entertaining.

Since Angelya was already fabulous enough to post some of the other people participating in this challenge, I will get right into the pictures.

Day 1: Icecrown

I am what I guess you could call a Wrath Baby.  I started playing during Wrath of the Lich King, and by the time I was 80 on my Resto Shaman, Icecrown was the raid to run.  So I hold a special place in my heart for Icecrown and Icecrown Citadel.  WoW is the first place I raided other then RvR (realm vs. realm) on Dark Age of Camelot.  That and world PvP in Warhammer are the only groups of a size I could compare to raiding in WoW.

And I have never even participated in a 40-man raid!  I cannot even imagine…

And the Lich King was my first hardcore kill, and I did it with four Druids in our 10-man – three Boomkins and a Resto Druid.  Unconventional?  Definitely.  Fun?  Hell ya!

I have screenshots of lil Effy standing over Arthas, but I will spare you those, and post some shots I thought were a tad more awe-inspiring.

And since I am a little late in starting, I will aim to do five sets of ten shots each.  Each set will have a theme, today’s being Icecrown.

~ Effy

Approaching Icecrown from Dalaran. I love the misty look. It makes Icecrown look far less fearsome.

A shot of a walkway near the Citadel.

I love the clouds. Without a shot straight into the sky, this was the best I could get them into a shot.

Approaching the imposing Icecrown Citadel.

Closer yet. Ohh, how many nights did I spend hovering above that battering ram while waiting for the raid to form up? Memories.

Many, many raids and wipes and porting through that entryway.

On the inside looking out.

The Shadowvault.

Approaching the Argent Tournament grounds.

Argent Tournament Coliseum, afterhours. (I just love the magic brooms.)

2 Comments

  1. Screenshots are always a thumbs up from me!

    Almost forgotten how eery this place feels. Some nice angles to look at,

    - Jamin

    • Yah, Icecrown was my home-away-from-Dalaran for many months. :)

      ~ Effy

Leave a Reply

