Effraeti's RP

One Woman, Two Timelines, Two Destinies.

20 Days of WoW Blogging Challenge: Day 4 – My Best WoW Memory

I realize it has been a few days since I worked on this.  Perhaps they are not all on consecutive days, but they will all get up here.  Finishing my Thanksgiving post, both for the Blog Azeroth challenge and so I can send it to my cousin, was high on my list this weekend.

Day 4 – My Best WoW Memory

This is a tough one for me, as I regularly move through the game wishing I had been present for certain things: the opening of Ahn’Qiraj, the Scourge invasion, the entirety of Burning Crusade.  But having never truly been a raider in other games, I think my fondest memory was my first end-raid kill: the Lich King.

It is amusing to look back upon, because when I finally killed the Lich King, our composition was so silly.  It was 10man, and we had two Pally tanks, a Resto Druid and my Resto Shaman, two Mages, a Rogue and three (yes, three) Boomkins.  I find it to be a good example of “bring the player, not the class” as it took us several tries over a few nights, but it was solid progression from first wipe to kill.

So, not only was it one of the finest displays of teamwork I have raided with (everyone knew their part, what not to stand in, etc.) but it was my first end-raid kill.  So I dare say it is my greatest achievement so far.  (I have since killed Cho’gall and Nefarion- again – but you always remember your first.  heh)

The closest I came prior to WoW was Tuscaran Glacier in Dark Age of Camelot, but I could never get all the way to the King.  TG was not an “instance” raid, it had spawn timers.  Four hours, I think?  And after that, all the trash and even the bosses would begin to respawn.  That raid was probably the nearest equivalent I can hazard to the 40man raids of Vanilla WoW.  I do not recall the size of the raids in DAoC, I think it was as many or as few groups as you had.  But the closest I ever got was to the Council right before the King and Queen, and I dare say we had somewhere in the area of 40.

That was pure chaos.  I give huge kudos to anyone who ever ran and led raids that large!

~ Effy

Anyway, here is a screenshot of Effy's first Lich King kill!

Leave a Reply

