Effraeti's RP

One Woman, Two Timelines, Two Destinies.

The Little Druid Who Could

This is a touching tale of hope, perseverance and the triumph of the Troll Loa.

Our story begins with a young Druid named Zen’kiki, struggling to find his place as a Troll in a Tauren’s world.

With no Troll elders to look up to in his quest to become a great Druid, Zen’kiki turned to the Cenarion Circle, and a Tauren named Adrine Towhide.

Adrine gladly took the young Troll under her wing, and began to teach him the various shapeshift forms for Druid combat and travel.

Zen'kiki practiced Bear Form...

...and Cat Form...

... and Moonkin Form...

...and, uh... Water Travel Form...

Adrine quickly realized that shapeshifting was not Zen’kiki’s strong point.  So when a passing adventurer greeted Adrine and Zen’kiki at Mender’s Stead, the wise Tauren knew just what to do.

Zen’kiki was thrilled to have a chance to prove to Adrine what an accomplished Druid he was becoming.

So Zen’kiki and his new friend Kiirae left Mender’s Stead on the important mission of cleansing the Plaguelands!

So Zen'kiki shapeshifted into Bear Form...

...and tanked...

...and tanked...

... and tanked, but he could not seem to hold threat on his targets.

Scratching his head, Zen’kiki tried to figure out what he could do differently.

His new friend Kiirae suggested swiping in his Cat Form.  Zen’kiki would be able to pounce on the targets and close in quickly to attack.

So Zen'kiki shapeshifted into Cat Form...

...and pounced...

...and pounced...

...and pounced, but he could not seem to swipe his targets.

Scratching his head, Zen’kiki tried to figure out what he could do differently.

His new friend Kiirae suggested casting in his Moonkin Form.  Zen’kiki would be able to Moonfire his targets from a distance.

So Zen'kiki shapeshifted into Moonkin Form...

...and Moonfired...

...and Moonfired...

...and Moonfired, but he could not seem to DoT his targets.

Scratching his head, Zen’kiki tried to figure out what he could do differently.

His new friend Kiirae suggested returning to Adrine and seeking her advice.

Adrine listened to their adventures, and the wise Tauren knew just what to do.

Zen’kiki was thrilled to have a chance to prove to Adrine what an accomplished Druid he was becoming.

So Zen’kiki and his new friend Kiirae left Mender’s Stead on the important mission of cleansing the Plaguelands!

So Zen'kiki cast Wrath on the Hawks...

...and helped...

...and helped...

...and helped, but he could not seem to hit his targets.

Scratching his head, Zen’kiki tried to figure out what he could do differently.

His new friend Kiirae suggested returning to Adrine and seeking her advice.

Adrine listened to their adventures, and the wise Tauren knew just what to do.

Zen’kiki was thrilled to have a chance to prove to Adrine what an accomplished Druid he was becoming.

So Zen’kiki and his new friend Kiirae left Mender’s Stead on the important mission of cleansing the Plaguelands!

So Zen'kiki freed the Plagued Bears...

...and healed...

...and healed...

...and healed all the Plagued Bears in the camp!

Zen’kiki Troll-danced and cheered and hugged Kiirae for all of her help.

His new friend Kiirae suggested returning to Adrine and telling her of their success.

Adrine listened to their adventures.  She smiled and nodded and knew Zen’kiki would make a great Resto Druid.

The End!

Parting Thoughts: And the moral of the story is – try, try again.  Or something like that.

I love this questline.  Zen’kiki is is easily one of my favorite NPCs.  The first time I saw Zen’kiki Moonfire himself, I almost fell out of my chair and I was sure my sides would split.  The Moonfiring was actually the most difficult to catch in the act, because that lil Druid has some haste!

This was actually meant to be a standard format short story.  But when young reader-type story lines started to bounce around in my head and onto the screen, I thought the repetition to be much more fitting.

Heal on, Zen’kiki.  Heal on.

~ Effy

14 Comments

  1. Effy, that was a great read! I remember that quest and you’ve captured it in such a sweet way, and in such a druid related manner (which of course appeals to ME!!!). Really well done!!!

    • hehe I am glad I could provide something relevant to the Druid community. ;) And I am very glad you enjoyed it! <3 Zen'kiki

      ~ Effy

  2. Blake :D

    YES I <3 DERP DRUIDS!

    "Transform! Cat Form! Leap! Pounce! Leap! Pounce! Meow! Pounce! Leap! Meow!"
    -Zen'kiki the Druid

  3. I love this version of Zen’kiki’s story. IT BURNS LIKE THE MOON! :)

    • hehe My favorite line! And why I had to kill about five times as much wildlife – to get a good shot of Zen’kiki saying that. :)

      ~ Effy

  4. One of the best series of quests in game, very funny and touching. I couldn’t stop laughing when hanging with him..

    • Yup, after enjoying those quests for the, I dunno, tenth time? I figured it was about time to give Zen’kiki his due.

      ~ Effy

  5. JD Kenada

    Man, when I did that story I thought the moral was “even the Trolls have a few special breed…”

    Your yarn is significantly better. ;)

    • Oh? I looked for this Zen’kiki post you hint at, but my search came back with nothing. :( I am curious to read this post now!

      ~ Effy

      • JD Kenada

        I hate text…sarcasm fell flat as my telling of the story was basically saying to guildmates, “You need to hit the plaguelands and do the quest chain with Zen’kiki…he’s all kinds of speshul.”

      • Oh, lol! Aww, I was really thinking you had posted a piece about Zen’kiki that I had somehow missed. But yes, I have had similar guild conversations of that sort. :)

        Oh, and yesterday I punched Deathwing IN THE FACE! :D But that story, I do not think I can tell it better than our three friends in Badlands.

        ~ Effy

Trackbacks

  1. Wednesday Reading « Cynwise's Warcraft Manual
  2. 2012 in 2012: March Update « Effraeti's RP

Leave a Reply

