Effraeti's RP

One Woman, Two Timelines, Two Destinies.

Mini-Post: Grammar Nazi

Picture shamelessly stolen from the interwebz - http://internetadvertisingdictionary.com/

I am indignant to learn that apparently gauge and gage are interchangeable??

Good job, WordPress, for marking “gage” as spelled wrong.  <cookie>

This came about while transcribing some of the notes of my predecessor.  He has “gage” all over this spreadsheet… instead of “gauge.”  And it is driving me crazy.

I am making a point to replace it everywhere I see it.

I am still confused that “gage” actually seems to be correct somehow?  Is this one of those matters of lazy people getting their way?  Is it really that difficult to put that “U” in “gauge”?  It is a tough one, I am sure…  :/

What are you thoughts on gage and gauge?

What about other words that should not be words?

Or what about words people use lazily in place of the correct word?  I am looking at you, oh hated “prolly.”  <shudder>

Have you ever really wanted to correct someone on their spelling and/or grammar?

Please share your thoughts!

~ Effy

8 Comments

  1. Avi

    “Gage” will never be acceptable as “gauge” to me. I think my brain would explode if I saw someone using it.
    I know it’s common, but my boss frequently types the wrong versions of there, their, and they’re (also your and you’re). Or has a tendency, when trying to use a big word, to end up typing it phonetically. There are times when I wish I could forward his emails back to him with an itemized list of what needs to be fixed.

    • Yes, they’re/there/their and your/you’re are good examples of other things that are like nails on chalkboard.

      As for your boss, I agree, something simple and polite: “Please revise as noted and resubmit. Thank you.” :)

      ~ Effy

  2. Losing a letter from a word does seem like laziness but the other hand, languages should evolve with time. That said, I will always spell it with the “u”.

    One of my soon to be ex-colleagues insists on putting “lol” in emails as punctuation, that makes me want to strangle her every time I read any communications from her. “Lol” does not belong in business emails under any circumstances.

    In our German classes at school, if we spelt something wrong or used grammar incorrectly in an essay, we would then have to write roughly 500 words demonstrating the correct usage. If you managed to make a mistake in that, you’d get another 500 and so on. Sometimes when reading emails/files from colleagues, I find myself wishing I could set that kind of homework.

    Spelling mistakes/grammar mistakes which are obvious get to me as well, especially if something is typed. If it’s underlined in red, at least check it out. Especially since my spelling in it’s natural state is terrible, at least in English. I don’t know how I’d survive without spellcheck but so many of the people I work with don’t seem to know that it exists. Oh and slang in what is intended to be an official document…… grrrrrr!

    • I agree… “lol” and other text-speak as I tend to refer to it is completely inappropriate in professional emails and documentation. I very seldom flip back to less professional in my emails, even to close co-workers. I do tend to have a habit of using smilies in emails, and that I am trying to break.

      Who overuses smilies everywhere?

      <——– This gal

      That sounds like a harsh German teacher! But just imagine what better shape the English language would be in if this applied to everyone! hehe

      I have a similar confession – I tend to be a pretty horrible speller as well. Usually I can go by whether a word *looks* wrong. But for some reason this works better when I write, as opposed to type. Words like "occasion" always bring me pause in the number of "C"s and "S"s, and probably because of spell check, I usually tend to get it wrong and have to correct it. :/

      I also know I tend to write like a speak, so I am usually editing "So"s and "Well"s off the beginning of sentences and watching my overuse of "that" and adverbs (and I know I still overuse adverbs heh). I also have a bad habit of writing in less than complete sentences on occasion (got it that time!) and beginning sentences with "and" and "but."

      All bad habits, I know, but I feel the conveyance of my casual (true) voice is more important in non-professional, less-structured "fluff" writing, as Laz puts it. And I usually have little trouble switching to a more professional tone when writing emails and documentation (though, some editing is sometimes required on my part to watch the intrusion of my casual voice). :)

      ~ Effy

  3. JD Kenada

    I follow two rules…

    1. It’s Hallowe’en.

    2. http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/0/0b/ES%26L.png

    • Save a panda! Correctly punctuate!

      ~ Effy

  4. It’s hard you know… Americans have different spelling to us Aussies, and one thing that really grates me is Valour/Valor. The game I know, is American, but every time I write Valor points it looks WRONG and then when I write Valour it looks wrong too! Even though it’s right!

    • I bet. You know, as weird as it sounds, I actually prefer the British spellings for most words: grey, honour, theatre, etc.

      ~ Effy

Leave a Reply

