Effraeti's RP

One Woman, Two Timelines, Two Destinies.

Rate Your Inner Nerd

Okie, after the reading the posts of both Ancient and Matty, I had to take the test.  And wow, I am really nerdy.  lol

Since I do not want that to be the entirety of my first post in several days, I wanted to share something I was thinking about in the car this morning.

First, let me explain that I have a severe case of Car Tourrets.  Usually, I am pretty mild mannered (for a redhead), polite, and empathetic.  And as I get older I am even getting a better handle on my swearing…  Except while driving.

People can just be so dumb on the road sometimes!  ><

Sometimes you can see someone having a fit in their car, and just about make out the four letter words they are screaming (which makes me giggle), but for the most part no one can retaliate.  (Well, unless it is one of those extreme roadrage situations… but moving on, quickly…)

I can yell at the windshield, I can grumble to myself, I can form articulate collections of swear words that would usually not be a part of my vocabulary – all from the protection of my lil car.

A representative image of my lil car, since I do not feel like running outside to take a blurry camera phone pic. Aww, cute lil Golf. <pet pet>  Except, mine is a Diesel. :D

There is a certain level of anonymity and displacement.  It feels that while in the car I am shielded from the thoughts and words of others.

Kind of like the anonymity people proclaim on the internet.

So there I was, swearing at morning rush hour traffic and thinking about this.

Now, whereas I feel protected while I swear to myself, I still do not use this anonymity of crossing the paths of people on the road I will likely never see again as some sort of free ticket to drive like a similar azzhole.  I obey traffic laws (except for a few, okie several, miles per hour of speed), I am courteous to other drivers (even if it gets me cut off by other impatient people <sigh> ), I use my signals, I do not cut people off, I stay to the right if I am moving slower than other traffic, etc.

And I yield correctly in roundabouts – even though I absolutely hate roundabouts.

Is it only me who sometimes wants to stick my head out the window and yell “YIELD!” while swinging an imaginary sword? Okie, probably just me… Property of Wizards of the Coast.

In my personal opinion, I am courteous on the road because I am generally a courteous person.  Anonymity does not give me a free pass to be an azzhole.  There is no situation where my morals suddenly change.

And I tend to feel that people who abuse this self-conceived free pass are lacking in common courtesy and decency in general.

Which brings me back to internet anonymity.  I feel the same way about people who are azzholes on the internet – I am pretty sure they are the same IRL.

Sure, I get upset sometimes, but that is why I can NOT queue up Vent while yelling and NOT send an angry whisper and NOT reply to someone with a vulgar stream of profanities.  I can do this all in my personal bubble (like in my car), so that all that anger and nerdrage does not spill over onto people around me.

Well, at least,these are the thoughts that keep me sane and mostly composed when people are completely inconsiderate.

But, do beware the redhead temper…

/soapbox

~ Effy

P.S. = And I suppose “sane” is a relative term.  :)

What are your thoughts on courtesy IRL, on the road, and on the internet/in game?

11 Comments

  1. Heh, that’s a familiar state of brain to me, too (red hair and all). Road rage makes me very glad that we’re not telepaths.

    My nerd score was 88.

    • Ohh! Nice! You are more nerdy than me! ;)

      ~ Effy

  2. OH! You’re an 83 and now Kam’s an 88! You guy’s must have got the math ones right!

    There was a time, before I had to commute about 30 miles into downtown DC everyday I didn’t swear. Maybe a hell once in a while. AFTER doing that commute for a few years I was cursing and swearing at every car that displeased me, a lot. I finally had to listen to a classic music station to calm down, lol.

    I’m so positive the same people who pass on the shoulder and cut you off are the same ones being asshats in game.

    • I think we are all pretty high-grade nerds, though! :)

      Yah, I totally agree: azzhats on the road = azzhats online = azzhats in real life

      ~ Effy

  3. OH Kam did it too? I need to update my post!

    • Grats to the Supreme Nerd! :D

      ~ Effy

  4. OK I’m doing one too :P

    • Yay! I cannot wait to see!

      ~ Effy

  5. I get so frustrated when driving! Which is ironic at the same time, because going out for a drive is meant to clear my head, but then you’re confronted with all these reckless people with their heads up their butts!

    I always like to think that the asshats I meet (haha, I nearly typed I “meat” there, derp) online wouldn’t be half as full of themselves as they are in-game – I’ve yet to meet (did it again, is this supposed to mean something?) a person to treat me that way in real life; as to how they speak to me and the slurs they throw at me in-game. It soothes my mind, though, (seemingly) knowing they’d never act that way in real life. Although, I do tend to sound more aggressive online (or via text) than I mean to. :(

    • I agree, driving is relaxing… but not the rush hour to and from work driving. That is what is usually frustrating. lol

      ~ Effy

Trackbacks

  1. Bubbles of Mischief » Rate your inner Nerd

Leave a Reply

