Effraeti's RP

One Woman, Two Timelines, Two Destinies.

WoW + Kung Fu Panda = ??

So it is official.  At Blizzcon today, Blizzard announced officially the next WoW expansion: Mists of Pandaria.

I am of mixed emotions regarding this…  I will do some more research when I get home, and update this with some more thoughts.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Okie.  So it is now Saturday, and I have been reading Pandaria updates for a better part of the morning.  I have to say, the more I read, the more I am getting excited about the expansion.

My first reaction was a large groan – giant pandas, really?  When announcements were made a few months ago about Blizzard requesting the copyright for the name “Mists of Pandaria” I tried to convince myself they would not really make that the next expansion.  Then, Blizzcon opened yesterday and this was one of the first announcements.

There were a lot of big announcements yesterday, they included huge Talent Changes and announcements on new dungeons and raids and the addition of Challenge Dungeons.

So I have watched the trailer, I have read the new main page on the WoW site and I reviewed the recap of yesterday’s Blizzcon.

Admittedly, I set aside spots for two Pandaren Monks, one tank and one healer, on each of my accounts.  The tank will be a male Pandaren named Qiqiang, and the healer will be a female named Miehiu.  Qiqiang roughly means “enlightenment and strength” and Miehiu “beautiful wisdom.”

As someone on Facebook pointed out, even the Pandaren racials are cute:

Racials:

  • Bouncy: reduces fall damage by half.
  • Inner Peace: double lasting rested XP.
  • Gourmond: +15 to cooking.
  • Epicurean: double stats to food buffs.
  • Quaking Palm: some crowd control, puts enemies to sleep for four seconds then does damage.

Classes:

  • Hunter
  • Mage
  • Monk (so there x2!)
  • Priest
  • Rogue
  • Shaman (perhaps another change for Orignal-Effy?)
  • Warrior

Blizzard says the female Pandaren model is not complete, but hopefully they use a model similar to above.  She looks like a Red Panda.

Aww.  🙂

I also signed up for a year of WoW (which I still pay monthly, as I have been) so I can get each of my accounts the Tyrael’s Charger flying mount.  It also comes with Diablo 3 for free (but only one copy, lame).  However, I have no interest in Diablo 3.  I might fiddle with it, since I have technically bought it.  <shrug>

I will be keeping an eye on this as information progresses, but so far I am already interested in the changes.

~ Effy

Leave a Reply

