Effraeti's RP

One Woman, Two Timelines, Two Destinies.

Blog Azeroth Shared Topic: Bring Back Some Changes

Blog Azeroth has a great forum for WoW Bloggers.  One of the topics they have is a place to post ideas for Shared Topics.  This Shared Topic comes from WoWMia of Chronicles of Mia:

Before I was going to bed, I heard someone talk to my husband about some changes in WoW they wish didn’t happen. Like removing some quests, content, class changes. One of the things that popped into my head was “companion deaths”. During the Ragnaros fight in Classic, I heard someone in vent go “Did someone’s cat died?” and sure enough, my Black Tabby companion died. Everyone busted up laughing.

So I thought about some other changes that I would bring back…just for the day? For the week? and Permanently?

So I thought I would take part of this challenge and comment on it.

I have only been playing since about two-thirds of the way through Wrath.  So there are a lot of mechanics that have changed over seven years of WoW that I cannot comment on.  But the end of Wrath brought some serious changes to the game – mainly in talent trees.

However, the biggest change that effected me was the change to Death Knights.

I had been playing my DK since about the time I started raiding on my Shaman.  Originally, my DK was strictly to be a mining toon, and I was leveling her as a Frost DPS.  Then, my boyfriend decided he wanted to level his Resto Shaman, and convinced me to tank – assuring me he would ease me through it, since I had never tanked before in my life.

I have always been a healer.  The only exception was toons I solo’d with that I ran as DPS – like my Hunter and my Death Knight.

So I did some research, and discovered that Death Knights could tank in any spec.  Wow!  That was pretty exciting to me.  So, since I was already becoming familiar with the abilities and talents, I stayed Frost, threw on some crafted tanking gear (because I was level 70 at this point) and flipped her into Frost presence.

I discovered that although I was a tad slow at pulling (I preferred “cautious”), I was actually a really good tank.

During my time healing in WoW (leveling my Resto Shaman to 80 with my boyfriend tanking on his Pally) I had learned to be his second set of eyes.  Sometimes bosses and even mobs are huge and hard to see around, sometimes you have to tank with a wall to your back which limits view and sometimes you just cannot catch everything that is going on and so having me standing on the fringes, keeping him informed, helped him and in turn apparently helped me to become a better tank.  Because before I ever tanked a dungeon, I knew what to keep my eyes on.

I tanked with her to 80, crafted and bought gear to get her in heroics, and geared up some more there.  I even tanked with her in ICC a few times on alt runs for our guild.  With my boyfriend healing, I was pretty confident with whatever was thrown at me.

Then, the pre-patch to Cataclysm hit.

Death Knights were changed almost to the point where they were an entirely different class.  Talent trees were smooshed into 31 talent points.  Instead of tanking in whatever spec you desired, blood was chosen as the tanking spec.  Blood presence was for tanking.  Dual wield tanking was declared obsolete.

And last but not least, Death Knights were scaled to how they would perform in Cataclysm, making the weeks after that patch absolute hell.  My DK could not hold aggro for anything.  I almost deleted her.  I did stop playing her.

Even after Cata hit, I leveled her through her mining.  I refused to take her into a dungeon.  I actually leveled my Worgen Priest, Sifaol, from 1 to 85 before my DK went from 80 to 85.

Honestly, the only thing that got me back onto my DK was a raiding friend who happened to be our guild’s DK tank.  When I got my Priest to 85, he helped me gear her up in heroics.  I noticed how easy he was to heal, and we talked a lot about specs and talents and glyphs and reforging – until he finally convinced me to tank for his Holy Pally, which I reluctantly agreed to.

But with his coaching, my DK went back from hated to loved.

I still miss tanking as dual wield (I loved my heroic one-hand axes from Loot Ship!), but I am definitely back to the DK as my favorite tanking class.

~ Effy

Leave a Reply

