Effraeti's RP

One Woman, Two Timelines, Two Destinies.

20 Days of WoW Blogging Challenge: Day 3 – My First Day Playing WoW

I am the Little Engine that Could…

Day 3 – My First Day Playing WoW

I have two first days playing WoW.  The first is horribly underwhelming.  While I was still playing Dark Age of Camelot, a friend of mine talked me into a 10 day trial of WoW.  He had an Undead Priest, and so I started an Undead Warlock.  I do not even remember what server.  I might have logged onto to her twice, and maybe I hit level 5?  Maybe…?

WTF convinced me to start a Warlock anyway??

But there were about 2 years between that day and my second first day.  And more DAoC, some Warhammer, some Guild Wars, some Eve Online and some Star Trek Online…

Previous to WoW, my main online persona was always Rosaelyn.  So my first WoW character was a Night Elf Druid named Rosaelyn.  My boyfriend started a Night Elf Hunter.

Now, let me back up for a moment.

Previous to actually talking me into downloading and installing WoW, my boyfriend “subjected” me to a number of videos.  Patch preview videos, machinimas – specifically the ROFLMAO video.  Oh Oxhorn, how do I love thee?

In and amongst these videos, I became enthralled with the Draenei and I decided that I wanted to be a Draenei Shaman.  But alas there were no Draenei in the trial WoW.

There was some eye-rolling from my boyfriend.  He convinced me to play the trial before deciding to buy the game AND Burning Crusade.

So I settled for a Night Elf.

The original Rosaelyn - in fact, I think this screenshot might actually be from my first day playing! (Ugh, generic UI!)

Now, do not get me wrong!  I think the Night Elves are a beautiful, wonderful race with a rich culture.  Teldrassil, Darkshore and Feralas are gorgeous zones with some of my favorite quests.  I love their lore, despite the fact that they appear to have made some bad decisions repeatedly over their long history (ie. Satyrs, Naga, Highborne).  I still have my original Druid, though, I made the regretful decision to race change her to a Worgen at the start of Cataclysm.  I recently recreated her on Wyrmrest Accord.

But it is worthwhile stating that from day 1, nay, prior to day 1, I was destined to be a Draenei.

Spoiler Alert: 2 days into our free trials, I wore my boyfriend down enough and we bought Burning Crusade.

In fact, every class that can be a Draenei, I have played as a Draenei to at least level 40 on some server or another.

I think I have completely gotten off track from the purpose of this post…  Well, not completely, but back to my first day.

I remember how captivated I was by all the beautiful colors that made up Teldrassil – colors that would not be matched until I stepped into the Burning Crusade, which I am regretful I was never ever to play and raid in when the content was viable and new.

Specifically, one thing I remember from that first day – my boyfriend and I were killing nightsabers for a quest, and one gave me a piece of grey loot: Small Leather Collar.  I turned to him and asked my first profound WoW question: “Aww, that kitty dropped a collar.  Does that mean he was just a lost Hunter pet?”  <sad face>  My boyfriend was without words.

There were more stupidly profound questions that he was convinced only I would think to ask to follow.  That was merely the first of many.

Grr, I cannot get the WoWhead tooltips to work.  😦

~ Effy

Leave a Reply

