Effraeti's RP

One Woman, Two Timelines, Two Destinies.

IntPiPoMo – Day 4: The Silithid

I have been having a bit of fun coming up with categories for my IntPiPoMo posts.  🙂

I hope everyone had a wonderful Turkey Day!  Mine consisted of mostly hanging out with a 5 year old, but more about that soon.  Onto the pictures!

Day 4 – The Silithid

I did not play WoW back in Vanilla days.  So never did I have to grind through Silithus, and I imagine that grind to be far more than today’s grinds – be it Molten Front dailies or dungeon grinds for Justice and Valor.  So my introduction to Tanaris, Un’Goro Crater and Silithus was very brief.

Now, despite the fact that I am far from a fan of bugs in any sense, the Silithid have always fascinated me.  I think it goes back to my favorite book – Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card.  The Buggers/Formics in those books were alien and interesting, if at the same time disturbing.  Same thing with the Silithid.

So, as it turned out, the Silithid were the first part of WoW were I became very interested in as far as their lore and finding out more.  I did all of the quests in both Un’goro Crater and Silithus on my original hunter, and I looked up all I could through WoWhead and WoWWiki and anything else that would come up in a Google search.  It seemed like the quests were leaning toward the Silthid being of alien origin, but then, digging in lore-wise, I came to find out they were not alien, just being controlled by the Qiraji.

Ahn’Qiraj is still one of the coolest raids in my opinion.  Then, to come face to face with C’Thun, and find out the drive behind all of the Silithid and Qiraji is nothing less than an Old God.  Wow.  I was hooked (if I somehow was not before that).  Lore became an increasingly interesting part of the game for me.

So, I figured it only appropriate to devote one day of my IntPiPoMo screenshots to the Silithid.  Creepy yet intriguing!

~ Effy

Even for an anti-bug person as me, the pink Silithid wasp is one of my favorite Hunter pets, second only to the Beast Mastery Silithid pet, whom I have aptly named Formic.

The Gaping Chasm - Tanaris

The Noxious Lair - Tanaris

Inside a Silithid lair. The glowy bug lights are intriguing.

Following the path from Tanaris to Un'Goro.

The Slithering Scar - Un'Goro Crater

Hive Regal - Silithus

Hive Zora - Silithus

Hive Ashi - Silithus

The Swarming Pillar - Silithus

5 Comments

  1. Love the second one in particular, the sandstorm over the tentacles looks beautiful in a creepy buglike fashion.

    • Agreed! I also like the beautiful sun and sunshafts offsetting the creepy bug leg architecture.

      ~ Effy

  2. Ahn’Qiraj is what drew me too!

    Must say, you captured the essence of Slithid with these shots. Absolutely stunning!

    Look forward to your next batch,

    – Jamin

    • Last batch coming soon! Now that I am finished with my Thanksgiving post! (And before Christmas even!) 😉

      ~ Effy

  3. Oh now I see why you made that comment about Silithus being one of your favourite zones! Great series of pics Effy 🙂

Leave a Reply

