Effraeti's RP

One Woman, Two Timelines, Two Destinies.

20 Days of WoW Blogging Challenge: Day 16 – Things I Miss (Post-Cataclysm)

I am in the home stretch!  What ever will I do when I do not have these nifty challenges for filler on days I cannot come up with something more original?  🙂

Day 16 – Things I Miss (Post-Cataclysm)

The world of Azeroth has a lot of movers and shakers, memorable characters who monumentally change things for good or ill – Illidan, the Lich King, the various faction leaders – but none have been so big or so earth-shattering as the big dragon himself… Deathwing.  He has been effecting the course of Azeroth (and beyond) for over 10,000 years, and  just over a year ago he left his most permanent mark – the Shattering of Azeroth, the great Cataclysm.

Many things were irrevocably changed by the event of Deathwing’s ascension from bowels of Azeroth, but the biggest thing that effected me personally…

It is no longer as “cool” to hang out in Dalaran and Ironforge.

I began playing WoW in Wrath of the Lich King, and during that time, Dalaran was where everyone hung out and met up and basically watched the world go by (both above and below you).  However, I would make frequent visits to Ironforge, to use the Auction House.  And why not?  There were super convenient portals to all the major cities from Dalaran.  (As it should be!  It is the City of Mages!)  Sure, I could have just as easily gone to Stormwind’s Trade District and conducted my business there, but Ironforge was more homey and cozy.

Perhaps I was a Dwarf in a former life.

Since the Cataclysm, though, those portals are gone (apparently the Mages who maintained them were eaten or something?) and the majority of the adventurous inhabitants of Dalaran have moved on to more convenient locations to hang out – Stormwind.  We have all been herded to Stormwind like so many sheep.  Stormwind is the only place that holds the portals to the Cataclysm zones.  It is the only place with a portal to Outlands.  And it is the only place you can portal to from either Dalaran or Shattrath.

I would have much preferred Ironforge as the major hub.  I miss the cheerful greetings of “Keep yer feet on the ground!” and “Interest ya ina pint?” and the comforting presence of the Great Forge.

Alas, the world has moved on.

~ Effy

9 Comments

  1. Effy, I couldn’t agree more about Ironforge. Even though I’ve moved on from the Alliance side of things, I still miss moving about there and the wonderful denizens that made it up!

    • Yah, what is cooler than wandering through the museum and library while you chit chat? 🙂

      ~ Effy

  2. glyneth

    Actually, all of the faction cities have a portal to Blasted Lands, aka right outside the Dark Portal to Outlands. In fact, if you don’t like SW lag or the crowds, park yourself in another city, and use the Blasted Lands portal to go through the Dark Portal, and on either side there are portals to both Org and SW. No need to force yourself to be in SW! (or just set your hearth to Dal)

    • I was not aware there is an Outlands portal in each city. Interesting. Even the Exodar? 🙂

      ~ Effy

  3. Ohh I see, I thought Ironforge was the hub like how Orgrimmar is, but it’s actually Stormwind. Yeah, I have set my hearth to Dal sometimes right next to the portal to Org so it’s not too far to get to the other portals. But I think Effy misses everyone being there! No fun hanging around Dal by yourself.

    • Exactly, Navi! Especially since it was more interesting to hang out in Dalaran, where Horde and Alliance could /dance and make faces and gestures at one another. 🙂

      Even being able to fly in Dalaran saddens me, as there is hardly anyone to showoff too.

      Admittedly, I do have a few toons bound to Dalaran.

      ~ Effy

  4. In my personal opinion having played the series, burning crusade was fun. But, when they brought cata and messed up Auberdine etc? it just wasn’t fun anymore. It just became one grind after another, but hey that’s just my own personal opinion 😦

  5. I haven’t really played Alliance for a long time now (at least a toon who can fly) but I usually log onto my Draenei just to check the AH. The other day though, I did fly her over to the portals in Stormwind only to find that I had forgotten to do something before I ported. It was so hard to get back to the middle hub (in Trade District) as all the rooftops look the same=/

    • If you set your hearth in the Dwarven District, you will be much closer to the portals. That is where I am usually hanging out these days, cuz there is an AH and a bank too. 🙂

      ~ Effy

Leave a Reply

