Effraeti's RP

One Woman, Two Timelines, Two Destinies.

Nerdrage!

At first there may seem to be an odd juxtaposition with the smiley and the post title of Nerdrage!  But hold on, let me explain and all will soon be clear…

So my right eye has been bothering for several days, to the point where it is slightly swollen.  😦  I went to the doctor’s Monday, but he was less than helpful and told me what it was not and then that he did not know what it is.  Boy, I feel much better…  So I stayed home Monday and Tuesday and mostly rested my eyes – which is agonizing I must add.  What fun is laying with a cold washcloth on your eyes all day??  I cannot accomplish anything – I cannot read, I cannot write, I cannot play WoW (but I did play WoW, just for short sprints of time).

It is still bothering me some today, but nothing some Excedrin Migraine cannot fix up.  😛

So anyways, I get to work this morning after being gone for a few days to get yelled at.  Apparently, it is completely my fault that no one else knows how to find supplies in our building.  They called, but it was while I was napping (cuz honestly, what else am I going to do with my eyes covered?) and left no message.

Perhaps I am way off base with this, but I am of the mind – no message, it cannot be that important.  I am the type of person that does not answer my phone if I do not recognize the number – if it is important, they will leave a message.

I guess that is wrong.  <shrug>

But the thing that really got me during that conversation?  Apparently my smileys are inappropriate!  Wha??

I work in an office that was 100% female up until November, when we had a male intern start.  Our intern happens to be a gamer, so needless to say, we hit it off quite well.  I helped him with a project that required access to a program he does not have, being an intern, and when I returned the paperwork I left one of my signature sticky notes with a message and my smiley (see above).

Apparently, if our intern were female, that would have been fine, but since he is male, it was inappropriate…  :/

So I had to share this with my friend from my last job.  My last job was in a Data Center, which was about 90% guys, and I was the receptionist.  I had to fight my way to conversation with almost everyone of them.  But they all started greeting me and acknowledging me when they would go by.  And never once did anyone question my smiley!  In fact, my friend mentioned to me a few months ago that he had found one of my sticky notes with my smiley.  That made me feel all warm and fuzzy.

Honestly, how can you see that adorable smiley and not want to smile?  Especially if that smiley is directed at you.

This smiley is for all my readers.  ❤ you, all!

And my rant is done.  😉

~ Effy

P.S. = 😛 😛 😛 😛 😛 😛 😛 😛 😛 😛 😛 😛 😛 😛

Leave a Reply

