Effraeti's RP

One Woman, Two Timelines, Two Destinies.

MoP Wishlist – Chests

Oooh, shiny!

One thing that I always enjoy about low-level leveling is the random treasure chest!

There is that moment of “OMG!  What cool things might be inside!?” before you open it.  And even if its contents only consist of random herbs, leather scraps, cloth, health food or mana water – it also contains a random green or blue item!  Most of the time it is a green belt or bracer or something fairly worthless except for some vendor silver.  But sometimes, that random item is something truly special!  (Or at least, cool looking!)

Okie, so perhaps my transmog obsession has something to do with this, but even before I started oooh’ing and ahhh’ing over every green that drops, I loved treasure chests.  It is the randomness and the surprise more than anything.

So one of the things I would like to see added when Mists of Pandaria is released, is MORE TREASURE CHESTS!  Low-level, high-level, just lil oases of excitement with a random chance to contain something exciting!

But, I firmly believe that locked treasure chests should be removed.  If the treasure chest contains a lockbox, so be it.  But there is nothing more frustrating than an “Oooh, shiny!” moment shattered by a locked treasure chest.  Lockboxes are fine… if I do not have a Rogue with me, I can take the lockbox to them.  But I cannot take a random world treasure chest to a Rogue.

So please, Blizzard, satisfy my need for more “Oooh, shiny!” moments while exploring Azeroth!

~ Effy

7 Comments

  1. You know, that’s a great idea! Would give a better feeling exploration as opposed to just flying over a zone “for the achievement”. I like shinies too =D

    • Yah, all my gaming friends seem to think me slightly ADD for getting distracted by shinies, but I do not see the problem!

      However, I was leveling through Feralas this weekend, with a Miner/Herbalist, and that was almost too much for my sensibilities! There were shinies EVERYWHERE! I am amazed I completed any quests at all.

      I am also a big fan of Easter Egg quests, but giant yellow “!” over them like a big flashing neon arrow have kind of ruined it for me. I think they should just turn those kind of quest items/landmarks into MORE shinies! 😀 Either the interaction cog to start the quest or a quest item to pick to start the quest. Running to an inanimate object with a quest marker over it just does not do it for me. :/

      ~ Effy

  2. Totally agree. I was pleasantly surprised to find chests in Uldum once in awhile while leveling. That’s one of the things I like about fishing, too … the new wreckage pools on Darkmoon Island can keep me there for hours!

    • Indeed! 😀 Wreckage and such are what I love most about fishing! In fact, I never level a character without fishing, just in case I happen upon some floating debris, because I always stop.

      ~ Effy

  3. poop

    i completely agree (about both) I HATE LOCKED TREASURE CHESTS… and past lvl40 they are pretty much all locked

    • Yah, definitely. Needing either a Rogue or a Blacksmith just to open a chest is the suck. It totally takes all of the excitement out of finding one. 😦 Perhaps making BS keys useable by all? That would be awesome! I would carry keys!

      ~ Effy

Trackbacks

  1. MoP Wishlist – A Few More « Effraeti's RP

Leave a Reply

