Effraeti's RP

One Woman, Two Timelines, Two Destinies.

Blog Azeroth Thanksgiving Challenge 2011

Okie, so I admit I am a procrastinator.  Usually, I make it work to my advantage, but I dare say I totally underestimated how long it takes to color.  Seriously.  I have been working on this for two days!

When I visited with my family on Thursday, a five year old gave me my inspiration and reminded me what I am thankful for.  From the mouths of babes…  🙂

My cousin’s daughter and I spent the better part of Thanksgiving hanging out together.  She and I colored and played with her dollhouse and I even got a five year old makeover.  My nails look fabulous, and hey, if anyone says anything about them being a lil messy – they were done by a five year old!  I usually cannot use that excuse for messy nail polish.  😉  She also did my hair with pretty barrettes, but I could not get a pic on my phone that was not fuzzy.

Among the coloring, she expressed a wish that we should write a story.

So, here is that story:

The Evil Fairy Who Tried to Disappear Thanksgiving… And it Worked

Written by: Alyssa

Illustrated by: Jamie

Suhm and Ciena were getting ready for the best Thanksgiving ever.

When all of the sudden, Zara, the Evil Fairy swooped down and kidnapped Ciena.

"Oh no!" Suhm shouted, running after them. But they flew away too fast for his short, turkey legs.

Suhm sat down, sad that his friend had been stolen away.

"I have to save Ciena, because there is no Thanksgiving without friends and family!" Suhm said to himself. So Suhm decided to save Ciena, and went after Zara to her Evil Fairy hideout.

Zara, the Evil Fairy, had decided to cook Ciena for her own Thanksgiving dinner.

But Suhm used his magical Thanksgiving powers and defeated the Evil Fairy!

And Suhm and Ciena went home and had a wonderful Thanksgiving together, just them and their family. It was the best ever!

THE END

It is simple, it is short and it is without much of a plot, but it made her so happy to see this little story that we put together.  So much so that she and I had to share it with the rest of the family during an impromptu Story Time.

I guess it does have a moral, though.  About the importance of family and friends.  Funny that I have spent so much time running around and stressing out at work, that I have not really stopped to think about how important my family is, and how thankful I am for them.

And funnier yet that it took the innocence and simplicity of a five year old to point it out to me.

I am so thankful for my family, and my darling little cousin.

I am thankful to be working and have a roof over my head.

I am thankful for the Muse that sees fit to keep coming to me as I need her – especially when she comes to me in the form of a creative little five year old.

I am thankful for a community that is how that Muse sometimes manifest: Blog Azeroth for their wonderful community of bloggers, the WoW Blog Twitter community and a number of bloggers who have personally influenced me in the short time I have been a part of this family of writers…

  • Amerence Love WoW – Amerence does a great job at inspiring as all to keep writing!
  • Shattered Beginnings – Jamin is always close by with some kind words.
  • Cannot Be Tamed – Jasyla is helpful even when I do not know I need it.
  • Resto is Epic – Kat is always so positive and enjoyable to follow on her blog.
  • Restokin – Lissanna deserves my thanks simply for us both being in the right place at the right time.
  • And so many more of you… to the point where my Blogroll is cumbersome and I still do not have everyone on it!

Thank you to all who influence me, fascinate me with your viewpoints and encourage the growth of their fellow writers.

~ Effy.

19 Comments

  1. Loved it! Loved it! Loved It! See I told you that you can do it!!! and It’s very colorful Yay! I love colored books, stories like these! you did a great job hon, and thank you because YOU are the ones that actually inspired me to do these things for the community! I hope you had fun despite the pressure, sorry! >.< Anyway, Good Luck with your entry and I am sure the judges will loved this!!! =)

    • You gave just the amount of push I needed. I am very glad you liked it. I look forward to giving my lil cousin a color copy of it the next time I see her. 😀

      ~ Effy

  2. Love the pics 🙂

  3. You are indeed an epic colorer! A great story with lovely illustration, I really enjoyed it.

    • LOL Thanks so much! I have to give the appropriate props to my little cousin… the title, story and character names were all her. I would have had this posted quicker if I had just used the pictures I drew with her on Thursday, but I am oh-so looking forward to giving her a color copy of this story at Christmas or before if I see her.

      Thanks again for all of the support and good luck to all our posters! I am having a blast reading them all! ❤

      ~ Effy

  4. So I have to ask one question. If the turkeys have magically powers to defeat an Evil fairy, that looked a lot like a Drow from Menzoberranzan, does that mean they are part Moonkin? just wondering because feathers + pew pew + great drawings = one great story by Effraeti. Your little cousin deserves some epic loot for her inspiration. Ah the little beginnings of a gamer. You should be very proud.

    • lolol I love it! She has already become a Daisy Girl Scout… gamer is the next logical step. Her epic loots will consist of a color, printed copy of the story and some duo tea party time. 🙂

      ~ Effy

  5. Now,I’d be thankful to have any drawing skills close to that of even a 5 year old 🙂

    Really nice way to set out the Thanksgiving post. Would be cool if you used more of this in the future posts, quite fun to flick through 🙂

    – Jamin

    • Hmm, perhaps adding some more art to my site is not a bad idea! The problem is, I do not consider myself very good at drawing people, especially hands. So I have not really jumped into drawing Effy, though I want to.

      Now is when I lament that I am a Shaman instead of a Druid. hehe I would totally draw all the Druid forms in a heartbeat. Oh! Ghostwolf!

      I think a stop at Staples tonight may be in order – I think colored pencils would do better than the crayons. I love crayons! but they tend to be messy when coloring for longer periods, and they left a fair amount crayon schmutz on my scanner. 😦

      ~ Effy

  6. Everything about that story is darling! More WoW arts are always welcome 😀

    • Thanks! Working on more WoW arts as we speak! My first attempt at Effy actually did not turn out too horrible. lol

      ~ Effy

  7. Congrats Effraeti!!!!

    • Thank you! And grats to you as well, hun! 😀

      ~ Effy

  8. Congratulatiosn Effi, Thank you for sharing your creative side besides playing WoW, Thank you for being part of this wonderful event. and also Thank you for you niece. Please just contact either Me and Beru for the prize you won, I think I mentioned in twitter that I will be the one to send the prize and Beru for Navimie but I will recheck again to make sure we dont send 2 for 1 person. we want both of you to get it! hehe, Anyway, Take care! and More coloring stories please! we all love that! ❤ God Bless!

    • Thank you so much for your support and kind words, Amer! I have emailed you regarding the mount.

      I will work on more stories. If nothing else, I will see if my cousin and I can put our heads together again at Christmas. 😀

      ~ Effy

  9. I cry Fowl! I mean Foul!
    Effy had the unfair advantage of a five-year old to collaborate with. How were we supposed to compete with that? I think we should all have been issued our own family cute-toon. Actually, I need to be careful what I wish for. My daughter is in a serious relationship now… Hm.

    Well, at least I don’t have Crayon Schmutz on my scanner to deal with, so there’s another thing to be thankful for.

    Congrats for my own personal favorite entry!

    • lolol Yes, that five year old, she is a crafty one. If I do not keep an eye on her, she may turn on us all and take over the world – one evil-fairy-turned-roasted-turkey at a time!

      Yah, luckily Windex > crayon schmutz. 🙂

      ~ Effy

Trackbacks

  1. Shared Topic: Blog Azeroth Thanksgiving Event | Twisted Nether Blogcast
  2. How Did I Miss This?? « Effraeti's RP

Leave a comment